Англійська

Англійська » Художня література в оригіналі » Modern Fiction » Places Tales Series

Показано 1-8 з 8 записів.
Ціна (грн) Кількість Разом (грн)
Художня література

"Berlin Tales"

Автор(и): Edited by Helen Constantine, Translated by Lyn Marven
ISBN: 9780199559381
Видавництво: Oxford University Press

Evocative stories from contemporary and twentieth-century Berlin that will enchant the visitor and armchair traveller alike. Photographs, a map, and a timeline will complement the stories and create a literary tour of Berlin. Includes some stories translated for the first time - and showcases the best new writing from the boom in German short stories. Provides new perspectives on German history through the twentieth century.

314.00

*Pоздріб. На гуртові замовлення – знижки. Для детального розрахунку змоделюйте замовлення.

-
Художня література

"Madrid Tales"

Автор(и): Edited by Helen Constantine Margaret Jull Costa
ISBN: 9780199583270
Видавництво: Oxford University Press

The first anthology of stories exclusively set in Madrid takes in the key places - the Gran Vía, the Prado, the Retiro Park, and the Plaza Mayor - and reveals Madrid life in all its facets. None of these stories have previously been translated into English. Includes the finest and most evocative tales of Madrid, some by well-known writers such as Benito Pérez Galdós, Javier Marías, Juan José Millás, and Carmen Martín Gaite; others by writers whose names will be less familiar.

314.00

*Pоздріб. На гуртові замовлення – знижки. Для детального розрахунку змоделюйте замовлення.

-
Художня література

"French Tales"

Автор(и): Edited and translated by Helen Constantine
ISBN: 9780199217489
Видавництво: Oxford University Press

Fiction is much more enlightening about a country and its people than are statistics, and if we want to find out and understand what a nation is really like, we must read its literature. In French Tales, Helen Constantine offers a panoramic view of French society and culture as seen through its short fiction, ranging through all twenty-two regions of France and featuring the work of an engaging collection of writers. Here are stories as varied as the regions of France themselves--dramatic, tragic, comic, poetic, ghostly, satirical. Readers will find both famous and little-known writers--among them Guy de Maupassant, Emile Zola, Daniel Boulanger, Didier Daeninckx, and Colette--and will wander the country from Provence and Alsace to Ile-de-France and Normandy. The themes are timeless--marriage and the dealings between the sexes; the nature of friendship; the misery and the memory of war--and the stories themselves reflect the rich ethnic diversity of France. Thus, Christian Garcin's story set in Lille has Flemish associations; Prosper Mérimée's Mateo Falcone, about an honor killing in Corsica, is in many respects more Italian than French; and Marcel Aymé's story about Arbi, an Arab in Paris living at the bottom of a cul-de-sac, illustrates only too well the plight of many North Africans who settled in the larger cities--Paris and Marseille especially.

314.00

*Pоздріб. На гуртові замовлення – знижки. Для детального розрахунку змоделюйте замовлення.

-
Художня література

"Moscow Tales"

Автор(и): Edited by Helen Constantine Sasha Dugdale
ISBN: 9780199559893
Видавництво: Oxford University Press

Presenting stories which represent each layer of the city of Moscow, from the centre of power to the outer rings of desolate estates and tumbledown shacks, this fascinating collection offers a lively and varied portrait in fiction of Russia's mysterious capital city. The collection includes works by Russian authors ranging from Anton Chekhov and Yuri Koval to Larisa Miller and Marina Boroditskaia, collating nineteeth- and twentieth-century tales, as well those written by contemporary authors. The stories are intriguingly varied --an account of life in the city's infamous high security prison, a tale of a lady with a supernatural gift for repairing household devices, the story of another pitiful lost dog who nearly joins the Moscow Circus -- and together they shed light on the changing nature of Moscow society across the centuries.

345.00

*Pоздріб. На гуртові замовлення – знижки. Для детального розрахунку змоделюйте замовлення.

-
Художня література

"Paris Tales"

Автор(и): Helen Constantine
ISBN: 9780192805744
Видавництво: Oxford University Press

If you've never been to Paris, here is your chance to experience it; if you have been there, here is your chance to return. Paris Tales is a highly evocative collection of stories by French and Francophone writers who have been inspired by the mystery and charm of different locations in this most visited of capital cities. The twenty-two stories-- by well-known writers including Nerval, Maupassant, Colette, and Echenoz-- provide a captivating glimpse into Parisian life from the mid-nineteenth century to the present day. The stories take us on an atmospheric tour of the arrondissements and quartiers of Paris, charting the changing nature of the city and its inhabitants. Viewed through the eyes of characters such as the provincial lawyer's wife seeking excitement, a runaway schoolboy sleeping rough, and a lottery-winning policeman, the collection presents a stage for the intimacies and insights of these distinctly Parisian people. From the artists' haunts of Montmartre to the glamorous cafés of Saint-Germain, from the shouts of demonstrators on Boul Mich' to the tranquillity of Parc Monceau, Paris Tales offers a fascinating literary panorama of Paris.Illustrated with maps and striking photographs, the book will appeal to all those who wish to uncover the true heart of this seductive city. Translated by well-known linguist Helen Constantine, Paris Tales is the first title in a series of literary tours of key capital cities. Rich in atmosphere, this literary tour will enchant both tourists and armchair travelers alike.

314.00

*Pоздріб. На гуртові замовлення – знижки. Для детального розрахунку змоделюйте замовлення.

-
Художня література

"Paris Metro Tales"

Автор(и): Edited and translated by Helen Constantine
ISBN: 9780199579808
Видавництво: Oxford University Press

Following Helen Constantine's highly successful Paris Tales, Paris Metro Tales offers 22 remarkable short stories set throughout Paris--all connected by the underground tunnels of its famed Metro. The journey begins at the Gare du Nord, stops at 20 underground stations along the way, and ends at Lamarck-Caulaincourt, each story corresponding to one of the 20 arrondissements of Paris. Readers are invited to find their way through the underground, changing trains when necessary and imaginatively emerging to read a story it its original setting. The stories range from the 15th-century account of the miraculous Saint Genevieve, patron saint of Paris, through tales by favorite writers such as Zola, Simenon, Balzac, and Maupassant. Though connected by the metro, the subjects of these short stories vary widely: from Martine Delerm's gripping narrative of the last hours of Modigliani's mistress to Gérard de Nerval's rich evocation of the bustling market in Les Halles in the 1850s, Colette's unlikely involvement in a traffic accident near the Opéra, and Boulanger's fine description of a blackly funny experience in Père Lachaise. In addition to writers well known to the English-speaking world, this collection also includes French authors whose work deserves wider attention, including Frédéric Fajardie, Martine Delerm, Marie Desplechin, Paul Fournel, and Claude Dufresne. Each story is illustrated with a black-and-white photograph and the book includes a map and suggested itinerary through the metro system. Perfect for fans of Paris Tales, connoisseurs of French fiction, and all short story enthusiasts, Paris Metro Talesoffers rare glimpses of the darker side of the "City of Light."

314.00

*Pоздріб. На гуртові замовлення – знижки. Для детального розрахунку змоделюйте замовлення.

-
Художня література

"Rome Tales"

Автор(и): Edited by Helen Constantine Hugh Shankland
ISBN: 9780199572465
Видавництво: Oxford University Press

Presenting a vivid mosaic of dramatic, comic, and tragic stories, all set in the Eternal City, these twenty absorbing tales capture the delight of discovering and exploring one of the world's most beloved cities. Spanning seven hundred years, this marvelous collection includes works by Italian authors ranging from Boccaccio and Casanova to Pier Paolo Pasolini and Alberto Moravia. Rather than being ordered chronologically, old and new appear alongside one another, reflecting the dual identity of Rome as both an ancient city that is one of the wonders of the world, and a thriving, modern metropolis. The tales are wonderfully varied in style, tone, and subject matter: a notorious Spanish prostitute in Renaissance Rome endures a public hiding without flinching; Pope John Paul II uncovers a vast conspiracy against him; a medieval revolutionary demagogue suffers almost the same fate as Mussolini. Each story is illustrated with a black-and-white photograph and there is a map of Rome to help readers locate the sites featured in the text.

314.00

*Pоздріб. На гуртові замовлення – знижки. Для детального розрахунку змоделюйте замовлення.

-
Художня література

"Vienna Tales"

Автор(и): Edited by Helen Constantine Deborah Holmes
ISBN: 9780199669790
Видавництво: Oxford University Press

Situated on the cusp of West and East, between the foothills of the Alps and the mighty 'Blue Danube', Vienna has long presented authors with a wealth of material for stories that entertain and intrigue. The city's famous quality of life and rich variety of cultural offerings is apparent here at every turn, but so too is its darker side, whether it be the Viennese obsession with death and decay or the dramatic, tragic events of its twentieth-century history. In stories from the early to mid-nineteenth century in particular, the city stands for wine, women and song, for a laid-back - - perhaps somewhat lax?- - outlook on life that is invariably linked to its location as German culture's southernmost centre. In more recent tales, the theme of the good life and of Vienna's beauty continues, but there are very few authors who do not dwell on elements of darkness or melancholy. Indeed, from the mid-twentieth century onward, death itself seems to have become literature's preferred guide to the city. The collection concentrates on stories set at the city's margins. The tales are arranged geographically rather than chronologically, around and through the city from west to east and back again. We begin and end with Arthur Schnitzler and Joseph Roth, two authors already indelibly associated with Vienna, but represented here by little-known gems, translated for the first time. Other authors include stars of Vienna's nineteenth century feuilleton journalism - Heinrich Laube, Ferdinand Kurnberger, Adalbert Stifter - but also the most recent generation of Viennese writers, Doron Rabinovici, Eva Menasse, Dimitre Dinev, with tales as yet unknown in English.

345.00

*Pоздріб. На гуртові замовлення – знижки. Для детального розрахунку змоделюйте замовлення.

-